The CSOEMA Gavel

The CSOEMA Gavel dates back to when the association was called Central States Society of Industrial Medicine and Surgery, probably prior to the 1930’s or before. The gavel and box was handmade by a member of the organization, using wood from each of the states that made up Central States, as follows: Indiana Handle made of hickory wood Wisconsin Maple wood Illinois White Oak wood Minnesota Birch wood Nebraska Walnut wood Iowa Red Oak wood Missouri Elm wood. The gavel will remain with the organization and be kept in protection to preserve a significant part of CSOEMA history. It can be viewed at the Annual Membership Meeting in March each year.

CSOEMA Past Presidents

1981-82  Paul R. Eggum, MD
1982-831982-83  Daniel E. Conrad, MD
1983-841983-84  Brock L. Weisenberger, MD
1984-85 1984-85  J. Frederic Green, MD
1985-86 1985-86  James H. Spraul, MD
1986-87 1986-87  Donald J. Crane, MD
1987-881987-88  Raja K. Khuri, MD
1988-89C. Douglas Meadows, MD
1989-90Dennis G. Egnatz, MD
1990-91Wayne N. Burton, MD
1991-92Larry A. Lindesmith, MD
1992-93John S. Rodway, MD
1993-94Hester J. Hursh, MD
1994-95M. Thomas Neu, MD
1995-96Charles A. Capasso, MD
1996-97William W. Greaves, MD
1997-98Dean A. Grove, MD
1998-99Alan L. Engelberg, MD

Shelby Kopp, MD


2000-01Carl N. Zenz, MD
2001-02William G. Buchta, MD
2002-03Richard L. Hon, Jr., MD
2003-04David L. Drury, MD
2004-05Thomas J. Hughes, MD
2005-06David S. Katz, MD
2006-07Dennis B. Phillips, DO
2007-08William S. Scott, MD
2008-09Stephen F. Wintermeyer, MD
2009-10Brian C. Svazas, MD
2010-11 Michael G. Parker, DO
2011-12 Mary Jo Capodice, DO
2012-13Melissa A. Bean, DO
2013-14Jeffrey D. Williamson-Link, MD
2014-15Janet L. Elliot, MD MPH FACOEM
2015-16 Robin Sassman, MD
2016-2017John Kuhnlein, DO MPH
2017-2018Ted Niemiec, MD
2018-2019Greg Couser, MD MPH
2019-2020Mark Taylor